The first mention of today's Werich Villa dates back to 1580. In the second quarter of the 17th century, Servác Engel of Flanders, who was promoted to nobility for defending Prague against the Swedes, had a tannery here. In 1725, part of Kampa with the villa was acquired by the Nostic family, who closed the tannery and turned the area into a garden connected to the Nostic Palace.
In 1797, Bedřich Nostitz had the former tannery rebuilt by the architect Ignác Palliardi into a classical style. Josef Dobrovský, the tutor of the Nostitz family, then lived in the house. In 1840 a greenhouse was added, the northern wall of which has been preserved.
In the 20th century, the villa was used as municipal housing. After a major flood in 2002, which damaged the house, the City of Prague began to look for a new cultural use for the building. In 2015, the villa was leased to the Kampa Museum, which, under the leadership of Meda Mládková, sought to preserve the legacy of Jan Werich and Jiří Voskovec. The Jan and Meda Mládková Foundation also supported Czech culture by publishing books, such as the correspondence of Voskovec and Werich.
Werich's Villa now serves as a cultural centre, commemorating the artistic and historical heritage of Kampa and the personalities associated with it.
It takes only 2 minutes (150 m) to walk from the Lennon Wall to Werich Villa. You can find directions here.